Contact Us
Golf Classic



PO Box 81087
San Diego, CA 92138-1097
(619) 482-9544

Principles of Conduct /
Use of Badge & I.D. Card


ASIS - San Diego

Directors and Officers

Roy Cosan
Vice President
Gary Paul
*Cal Turley
David Moreno
Executive Director
Skip Murphy
*Mike Turley
Bill O'Brien
Sheriff's Dept. Liaison
Dan Brislin

*Denotes Past President

SDCLEF » Scholarships

SDCLEF provides Scholarships to qualified law enforcement officers in the eleven qualifying law enforcement agencies in San Diego County.


Scholarship Committee: Each year the SDCLEF awards scholarships to qualifying officers. Each scholarship is worth $5,500. They are designed to assist officers acquire post graduate degrees that will enable them to promote within their departments and thereby benefit the citizens of San Diego County.

Applications for scholarships are sent out in April. Scholarships are generally awarded in July or August of each year. See Thank You letters.

2018 Scholarships
Capt. Mike McClain San Diego County Sheriff
Dep. Jessica Wilds San Diego County Sheriff
Lt. Amber Baggs San Diego County Sheriff
Sgt. Janice Kolhof Escondido Police Dept.
Lt. Carole Beason San Diego Police Dept.
Sgt. Ruben Gutierrez San Diego Police Dept.

2016 Scholarships
Cap. Marco Garmo San Diego Sheriff
Sgt. Pat McEvoy San Diego Sheriff
Dep. John Buckley San Diego Sheriff
Dep. Luis Pena San Diego Sheriff
Off. Jesse Ochoa San Diego Police Dept.
Sgt. Paul Yang San Diego Police Dept.

2015 Scholarships
Lt. Don Redmond Chula Vista Police Dept.
Dep. Chase Amos San Diego Sheriff
Dep. Jessica Boegler San Diego Sheriff
Dep. Nathan Rowley San Diego Sheriff

2014 Scholarships
Ofc. Jose Gayton La Mesa Police Dept. Criminal Justice
Lt. William "Vern" Sallee Chula Vista Police Dept. Administrative Studies w/Criminal Justice Emphasis

2013 Scholarships
Det. Christina Burhans San Diego Police Dept. Peace and Justice
Off. Briana Wallace San Diego Police Dept. Criminal Justice
Det. Sgt. Benjamin Kelso San Diego Police Dept. Organizational leadership
Det. Carmelin Rivera San Diego Police Dept. Executive Leadership
Det. Ruben Medina San Diego Sheriff Public Administration
Dep. Elizabeth Barr San Diego Sheriff Psychology

2012 Scholarships
Ofc. Joe Jones San Diego Police Dept. Criminology, Law & Society
Det. David Iorillo San Diego Police Dept. Organizational Leadership
Off. Brian Avera San Diego Police Dept. Public Administration
Dep. Mark Kelley San Diego Sheriff Management
Sgt. David Bavecoff National City Police Dept. Global Leadership

2011 Scholarships
Ofc. Jonathan Bamba San Diego Police Dept. Homeland Security
Ofc. Luis Benavides San Diego Police Dept. Criminal Justice
Sgt. Angela DeSarro La Mesa Police Dept. Administration of Justice
Ofc. Kelly Doherty San Diego Police Dept. Administration of Justice
Det. Christopher Zack Escondido Police Dept. Criminal Justice

2010 Scholarships
Det. Francis Giaime Chula Vista Police Dept. Conflict Resolution
Ofc. Daniel Hansen El Cajon Police Dept. Organizational Leadership
Det. Katherine Lynch La Mesa Police Dept. Administration of Justice
Ofc. Matthew Tortorella San Diego Police Dept. Business Administration

2009 Scholarships
Sgt. David Schaller San Diego Sheriff's Dept. Public Administration
Ofc. Jade Sawyer Carlsbad Police Dept. Organizational Leadership
Ofc. Jeffry Jordon San Diego Police Dept. Organizational Leadership

2008 Scholarships
Lt. David Bond La Mesa Police Dept. Psychology
Ofc. David Lanham San Diego Harbor Police Homeland Security
Det. Michelle Velovich San Diego Police Dept. Forensic Science

2007 Scholarships
Ofc. Jason Costanza San Diego Police Dept. Emergency Services Admin
Lt. Mark Elvin San Diego Sheriff's Dept. Organizational Leadership
Sgt. Thomas Evans San Diego Sheriff's Dept. Criminal Justice
Agt. Norene Andersen Chula Vista Police Dept. Business Administration
Det. Greg Runge La Mesa Police Dept. Law

2006 Scholarships
Sgt. Andrea Arreola San Diego Police Dept. Emergency Services
Dep. Karen Bloch San Diego Sheriff's Dept. Criminal Justice
Lt. Mike Loarie Escondido Police Dept. Executive Leadership
Victor Rivera San Diego Sheriff's Dept.

2005 Scholarships
Lt. Patricia Duke San Diego Sheriff's Dept.
Lt. Daniel Hardman Chula Vista Police Dept.
Sgt. Edward Musgrove San Diego Sherriff's Dept.
Sgt. Lanny Roark National City Police Dept.
Sgt. Christopher Wynn Escondido Police Dept.

Thank You Letters

   Sergeant Ruben Gutierrez 2018 Scholarship
   Captain Sallee 2014 Scholarship
   Ofc. Burhans 2013 Scholarship
   Ofc. Kelso 2013 Scholarship
   Ofc. Benavides 2011 Scholarship
   Ofc. Lanham 2008 Scholarship